TEXT SIZE    A | A+ | A-

NIHR Brain Injury HTC becomes a MedTech Co-operative

The NIHR Brain Injury Healthcare Technology Co-operative has been awarded core funding of £1.25 million to continue its work to drive medtech innovation for patients after an acquired brain injury for a further 5 years (2018-2023) under the new banner of a Medtech Co-operative. The Co-operative has expertise in eleven clinical theme areas – with professional leadership as shown below – reflecting the patient pathway from initial ictus to final outcome and reintegration into the community.

  • Prevention and Pre- Hospital Care (Prof. Mark Wilson, Imperial College London),
  • Neurocritical Care (Prof. David Menon),
  • Multi-Modality Monitoring (Prof. Peter Hutchinson),
  • Intracranial Dynamics and Shunt Technology (Prof. Marek Czosnyka),
  • Functional Neuroimaging/Neurophysiology (Prof. Franklin Aigbirhio),
  • Neuro-oncology (Dr. Stephen Price),
  • Paediatrics and Neuro Development (Prof. David Rowitch and Dr. Topun Austin),
  • Regenerative Neuroscience (Dr. Mark Kotter),
  • Neurorehabilitation (Prof. Valerie Pomeroy, University of East Anglia),
  • Cognition and Mental Health (Prof. Barbara Sahakian),
  • Neuropsychological Rehabilitation (Dr. Andrew Bateman, Oliver Zangwill Centre)

These themes are underpinned by four core support activities:

  • Patient and Public Involvement (Prof. Christi Deaton);
  • MedTech Regulation and Evaluation (Dr. Peter Jarritt);
  • Clinical Informatics and Registries (Dr. Alexis Joannides);
  • Health Economics and Eco-system Modelling (Prof. Alonso Pena, University of Milan)

The MedTech Co-operative has a UK wide remit and will work with patients and public, NHS organisations and universities, including other MedTech and In vitro Diagnostic Co-operative (MICs), research councils, charities, industry, including SMEs and start-ups to provide a structured and systematic approach to find areas of unmet need that might be amenable to a technology-based innovation, facilitate the generation of innovative solutions and foster the translation of viable solutions from initial concept to successful market adoption and sustainable clinical impact.

Continue reading

UKABIF Awards 2017

UKABIF Awards aims to highlight the work of innovative and inspiration individuals working in the sector. The awards have three categories – Lawyer of the Year, Clinician of the Year and the Stephen McAleese Award for Inspiration.  Its very easy to make a nomination – you just need to complete the form and return it to UKABIF by 10th October 2017.  Make someone’s day and nominate them today!

UKABIF welcomes enquiries from the media. We are able to provide information about all aspects of acquired brain injury as well as experts in the field to talk about topical issues. Please call 0845 6080788 or 07903887655.